THE OPTIMISTIC DECADE by Heather Abel

This entertaining and assured debut novel about a utopian summer camp and its charismatic leader asks smart questions about good intentions gone terribly wrong. Framed by the oil shale bust and the real… Continue reading

FIRST COMES MARRIAGE: MY NOT-SO-TYPICAL AMERICAN LOVE STORY by Huda Al-Marashi

A candid, heartfelt love story set in contemporary California that challenges the idea of what it means to be American, liberated, and in love. When Huda meets Hadi, the boy she will ultimately… Continue reading

THE DEEPER THE WATER THE UGLIER THE FISH by Katya Apekina

It’s 16-year-old Edie who finds their mother Marianne dangling in the living room from an old jump rope, puddle of urine on the floor, barely alive. Upstairs, 14-year-old Mae had fallen into one… Continue reading

A DIRTY WORD: HOW A SEX WRITER RECLAIMED HER SEXUALITY by Steph Auteri

Steph Auteri is a sex writer. In her 15 years as a journalist, she has reviewed sex toys, attended sex parties, researched sexual health, and even participated in “cuddle parties.” There’s only one… Continue reading

WHITE DANCING ELEPHANTS by Chaya Bhuvaneswar

A woman grieves a miscarriage, haunted by the Buddha’s birth. An artist with schizophrenia tries to survive hatred and indifference in small-town India by turning to the beauty of sculpture and dance. Orphans… Continue reading

SMALL FRY by Lisa Brennan-Jobs

  Born on a farm and named in a field by her parents—artist Chrisann Brennan and Steve Jobs—Lisa Brennan-Jobs’s childhood unfolded in a rapidly changing Silicon Valley. When she was young, Lisa’s father… Continue reading

DESIGNER YOU by Sarahlyn Bruck

Pam Wheeler checked every box: Happy marriage? Check. Fantastic kid? Check. Booming career? Check. So when her husband dies in a freak accident and their DIY empire goes on life support, Pam must… Continue reading

THE SHAME OF LOSING by Sarah Cannon

On the morning before Halloween in 2007, Sarah receives a phone call from her husband’s arborist colleague: Matt, her spouse of seven years and father of their two small children, has been severely… Continue reading

KICKDOWN by Rebecca Clarren

When Jackie Dunbar’s father dies, she takes a leave from medical school and goes back to the family cattle ranch in Colorado to set affairs in order. But what she finds derails her:… Continue reading

NOTHING GOOD CAN COME FROM THIS: ESSAYS by Kristi Coulter

Kristi Coulter inspired and incensed the internet when she wrote about what happened when she stopped drinking. Nothing Good Can Come from This is her debut–a frank, funny, and feminist essay collection by… Continue reading

THE SUMMER LIST by Amy Mason Doan

In the tradition of Judy Blume’s Summer Sisters, The Summer List is a tender yet tantalizing novel about two friends, the summer night they fell apart, and the scavenger hunt that reunites them… Continue reading

BONE WILLOWS by James Engelhardt

In the Alaska-based poems of Bone Willows, the wheel of the year spins faster than in the Lower Forty-Eight: “Arctic spring bicycles down a bookcase.” And the frantic course of time affects everything… Continue reading

LANDS OF LOST BORDERS: A JOURNEY ON THE SILK ROAD by Kate Harris

As a teenager, Kate Harris realized that the career she craved—to be an explorer, equal parts swashbuckler and metaphysician—had gone extinct. From what she could tell of the world from small-town Ontario, the… Continue reading

AN UNTIDY LIFE: WHAT I SAW AT THE MEDIA REVOLUTION by Les Hinton

Les Hinton was 15 when he first worked for Rupert Murdoch, and Murdoch’s “empire” was a single evening newspaper. In the next half century, he travelled the world on the wagon train of… Continue reading

SUMMER CANNIBALS by Melanie Hobson

Summoned to their magnificent family home on the shores of Lake Ontario–a paradisiacal mansion perched on an escarpment above the city–three adult sisters Georgina, Jax, and Pippa, come together in what seems like… Continue reading

EVERYTHING HERE IS BEAUTIFUL by Mira T. Lee

Two Chinese-American sisters—Miranda, the older, responsible one, always her younger sister’s protector; Lucia, the headstrong, unpredictable one, whose impulses are huge and, often, life changing. When Lucia starts hearing voices, it is Miranda… Continue reading

LOOK BIG: AND OTHER TIPS FOR SURVIVING ANIMAL ENCOUNTERS OF ALL KINDS by Rachel Levin

A humorous and helpful illustrated field guide to avoiding interactions–both dangerous and annoying–with 50 wild animals, including survival techniques, wildlife etiquette, and other essential advice. As humans encroach on wild places, encounters with… Continue reading

THE GOOD NEWS ABOUT BAD BEHAVIOR: WHY KIDS ARE LESS DISCIPLINED THAN EVER —AND WHAT TO DO ABOUT IT by Katherine Reynolds Lewis

The current model of parental discipline is as outdated as a rotary phone. Why don’t our kids do what we want them to do? Parents often take the blame for misbehavior, but this… Continue reading

AMONGST THE LIBERAL ELITE: THE ROAD TRIP EXPLORING SOCIETAL INEQUITIES SOLIDIFIED BY TRUMP by Elly Lonon and Joan Reilly

Getting woke is hard. As this couple is discovering under 45’s regime, it takes more than listening to NPR on our daily commutes and watching Jon Stewart cameos on our phones in bed… Continue reading

SELF-PORTRAIT WITH BOY by Rachel Lyon

Longlisted for the Center for Fiction First Novel Prize A compulsively readable and electrifying debut about an ambitious young female artist who accidentally photographs a boy falling to his death—an image that could… Continue reading

ONE WATER by Rob McCue

In One Water the author takes us on a journey through the Alaskan wilderness to the streets of its second largest city in a quest to find meaning in this world. The book… Continue reading

BURNING DOWN THE HAUS by Tim Mohr

It began with a handful of East Berlin teens who heard the Sex Pistols on a British military radio broadcast to troops in West Berlin, and it ended with the collapse of the… Continue reading

NO ASHES IN THE FIRE by Darnell L. Moore

When Darnell Moore was fourteen, three boys from his neighborhood tried to set him on fire. They cornered him while he was walking home from school, harassed him because they thought he was… Continue reading

BIG WINDOWS by Lauren Moseley

In this stunning debut collection, Lauren Moseley’s poems move through real and imagined landscapes, navigating the borders between doubt, fear, wonder, and empowerment. Through the lens of the natural world, Moseley explores love,… Continue reading

THE SHORTEST WAY HOME by Miriam Parker

Hannah is finally about to have everything she ever wanted. With a high-paying job, a Manhattan apartment, and a boyfriend about to propose, all she and Ethan have to do is make it… Continue reading

FORBIDDEN BY FAITH by Negeen Papehn

Sara knows her life would be easier if she married a man of her faith, but when has love ever been easy? Raised by her immigrant Iranian parents, Sara has been taught that… Continue reading

LETTERS FROM A YOUNG FATHER by Edoardo Ponti

Becoming a parent changes everything. Fear and love live together. Suddenly there is a person in the world for whom you want happiness and safety, even when those two don’t always coincide. Letters… Continue reading

LOVE WAR STORIES by Ivelisse Rodriguez

Puerto Rican girls are brought up to want one thing: true love. Yet they are raised by women whose lives are marked by broken promises, grief, and betrayal. While some believe that they’ll… Continue reading

THERE ARE NO DEAD HERE: A STORY OF MURDER AND DENIAL IN COLOMBIA by Maria McFarland Sánchez-Moreno

The bloody story of the rise of paramilitaries in Colombia, told through three characters–a fearless activist, a dogged journalist, and a relentless investigator–whose lives intersected in the midst of unspeakable terror. Colombia’s drug-fueled… Continue reading

CALIFORNIA CALLING: A SELF-INTERROGATION by Natalie Singer

California Calling is a lyrical self-interrogation of obsession, emigration, and identity. Natalie Singer’s story opens in a courtroom on a witness stand, where she’s forced to testify in a family breakup that changes the… Continue reading

THE WILD BIRDS by Emily Strelow

Cast adrift in 1870s San Francisco after the death of her mother, a girl named Olive disguises herself as a boy and works as a lighthouse keeper’s assistant on the Farallon Islands to… Continue reading

REVOLUTIONARY THREADS by Bobby Sullivan

Revolutionary Threads offers an American Rasta’s retelling of episodes in American history with an anticolonial thrust, accented by Bobby Sullivan’s own personal experiences. The book ties together various subjects while returning each time to… Continue reading

GOODBYE, SWEET GIRL by Kelly Sundberg

Kelly Sundberg’s husband, Caleb, was a funny, warm, supportive man and a wonderful father to their little boy, Reed. He was also vengeful and violent. But Sundberg did not know this when she… Continue reading

EVERYTHING YOU LOVE WILL BURN: INSIDE THE REBIRTH OF WHITE NATIONALISM IN AMERICA by Vegas Tenold

The dark story of the shocking resurgence of white supremacist and nationalist groups, and their path to political power. Six years ago, Vegas Tenold embedded himself among the members of three of America’s… Continue reading

TIGERBELLE by Wyomia Tyus with Elizabeth Terzakis

In 1968, Wyomia Tyus became the first person ever to win gold medals in the 100-meter sprint in two consecutive Olympic Games, a feat that would not be repeated for twenty years or… Continue reading

5 from 35: Author Q & A with Steph Auteri

Steph Auteri, 38, published her first book, A Dirty Word: How A Sex Writer Reclaimed Her Sexuality, with Cleis Press this October. Read more here.  How long did it take you to write your first… Continue reading

5 from 35: Author Q & A with Elly Lonon

Elly Lonon, 42, published Amongst the Liberal Elite: The Road Trip Exploring Societal Inequities Solidified by Trump (RESIST) – a graphic novel, this fall with powerHouse Books.  Read more here. How long did… Continue reading

5 from 35: Author Q & A with Natalie Singer

  Natalie Singer, 40, published first book California Calling: A Self-Interrogation with Hawthorne Books this year. Read more here. How long did it take you to write your first (published) book, start to… Continue reading

5 from 35: Author Q & A with Emily Strelow

Emily Strelow, 40, published her debut THE WILD BIRDS from Rare Bird this year. Read more about THE WILD BIRDS here.  BUY THE BOOK How long did it take you to write your first… Continue reading